colton-haaker-rockstar-energy-husqvarna-factory-racing-1Colton Haaker has secured the 2016 AMA Endurocross title having placed as runner-up at the eighth and final round of the series in Ontario, California. Despite enduring a drama-filled night of racing Colton held a 14-point lead over nearest rival, Cody Webb (KTM), going into the final round which was enough to claim the title with a second place result.

Second in his heat race Colton fired away from the start to take an early lead in the main. Looking like he might end his 2016 Endurocross campaign with a win, a mistake on lap two dropped him into the runner-up position before further mistakes prevented him from challenging for the win.

colton-haaker-rockstar-energy-husqvarna-factory-racing-2Charging hard despite knowing that only a handful of points would secure him the title Colton went on to endure a crash filled main event, yet remained in the runner-up position through the 15-lap race. Claiming his third runner-up result of the championship, which together with his five main event wins means he finished an eventual nine points clear of runner-up Cody Webb in the championship standings, with Ty Tremaine third. The indomitable 44 year old Mike Brown finished 4th in the championship.

The world’s top endurocross riders, including South Africa’s Blake Gutzeit, next head to Poland for the opening round of the FIM SuperEnduro World Championship on December 10.



Results – 2016 Endurocross, Rnd 8 – Pro class
1. Cody Webb (KTM) 15 laps
2. Colton Haaker (Husqvarna) 15 laps
3. Cory Graffunder (KTM) 14 laps
4. Ty Cullins (Beta) 14 laps
5. Ty Tremaine (KTM) 14 laps
6. Noah Kepple (KTM) 14

2016 Endurocross Championship Standings, Pro Class
1. Colton Haaker (Husqvarna) 201pts
2. Cody Webb (KTM) 192pts
3. Ty Tremaine (KTM) 127pts
4. Mike Brown (Husqvarna) 126pts
5. Kyle Redmond (Beta) 116pts
6. Cory Graffunder (KTM) 111pts